This month, the American Physical Society announced the recipients of their Spring 2021 prizes. The Leo Szilard Lectureship for this year goes to UMD’s Steve Fetter, Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School. The award is given every year in recognition of accomplishments by physicists in promoting the use of physics to the benefit of society.

Dr. Fetter is a professor in the School of Public Policy. He received his S.B in Physics from MIT and his PhD in energy and resources from University of California, Berkeley. He was named an APS Fellow in 1994.

The award citation: “For seminal contributions to two US administrations' efforts to minimize the threat of nuclear war, for helping to establish nuclear archeology as a viable and effective method for supporting arms control and countering proliferation, and for contributing expert analysis leading to the UN General Assembly's adoption of the 1996 Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty.